Just a brief update. None of the Saturday selections did particularly well though, as noted, I didn’t back them. That was a bit of a break from the FV, which resumed Monday at redcar, the Zetland Zold Cup off at 4-10.

No internet access, it being a bank holiday – suffice to say that my value selection, Reve de Nuit, came 7/11 at 33/1 and my first four rated filled the first four places, though not in the same order and not at interesting prices, except my 4th placed, Fujin Dancer. I had him as 10/1 and could have taken 20/1 in the morning as the alternative value bet. SP was 16/1.

I will concentrate on FV solely now – it has always been the ideal framework allowing for contrarian as well as conventional form reading and coming up with numbers one can go on. Saturday’s result was an illustartion of it’s worth. The only drawback is that, I suspect, the market is now so sophisticated that value will be hard to get – this can be checked by comparing sp with early prices and so on. I feel (it’s pretty much a feeling from compiling my own prices) that the ‘hive mind’ of the exchanges (and the betting ‘bots’) is nibbling away at the value.

Imagination or fact? I did say I thought this would happen back in the early 90s as the internet and databases took off.

