I’m taking a break from the odds compiling for a while – the main difficulty is getting through more than one race a day – timewise it is not economical. I will come back to it when I have found a quicker way to rate the form.

In the meanwhile, it’s Fineform again. I tried this on Sunday and got two 2nds and a 3rd from three bets. I missed a 9/1 winner (top-rated) but not a bad result anyway.

Today’s selections are:

Haydock 3-40 Flipando bet 5/2 early 2nd 7/4
Haydock 4-40 Hillview Boy bet 7/2 early NR
Epsom 7-25 Wellington Square bet 7/2 early 3rd 4/1

No doubles or trebles, it’s hardly worth it at these prices.

Shortish prices, Flipando anyway, but non-runners due to the ground have meant a new book. Flipando is Topspeed top-rated, well clear on 105, which is always reassuring.

Just the standard approach to form reading – check suited by distance and going, assess quality of recent form and check ratings/weight and trainer form. I have taken note of Braddock’s idea for handicaps, namely to favour those at the top of the card, working downwards until a qualifying runner is found. The theory is that these are already rated the best by the official handicapper. Taking the Fineform ratings as the basis rather than working down the card, I am inclined to favour the higher rated unless the going is truly soft when the handicap system (in my experience) breaks down.

This is a nice approach. You still have to read the form, of course, but it much quicker and more relaxed. Let’s see how it goes – I have in mind to stick with it till the end of July then reassess.

