Ascot today – heavy going but dry weather.  I had expected several races to look at but only one for now, the others being smaller fields and/or lower grades.  

Ascot 1-40 has Lough Derg as my favourite.  He has won more than once at this course and distance.  4th on the latest outing due to longer distance and held up rather than front running, but that run appears to prove his ability on the today’s going.  I recall from earlier Flat seasons that Ascot favours front runners though whether that applies to the jumps as well, we’ll have to see.  A clear class advantage by my reckoning.

The other interesting horse is Chief Yeoman with highest Topspeed rating and scoring well on the other factors.  I have Lough at 2/1 and Chief 7/2, possibly a bit longer but thereabouts; Ladbrokes offer 11 and 12 respectively.

Update:  Bugger!  Beaten by a head!  The Sporting Life report says, “led, ridden after 3 out, strongly pressed from next, narrowly headed flat, rallied gamely near finish, just held opened 10/1 touched 11/1 “.  At 17/2 as well so I beat SP nicely – I’m just glad I didn’t watch it, I would have had a heartattack!

Chief Yeoman was 4th.

